TARJA TURUNEN: ‘What Lies Beneath’ To Be Released In U.S. With Exclusive Artwork

The End Records has set an August 31 U.S. release date for former NIGHTWISH singer Tarja Turunen’s sophomore solo album, “What Lies Beneath”. The CD’s first single, “Falling Awake” (featuring Jason Hook from FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH), will be released August 17 as a limited-edition seven-inch single through The Omega Order and available August 24 at all digital outlets . The track is backed with “The Good Die Young” — a song from the SCORPIONS’ most recent album that features Tarja’s vocals.

Featuring U.S.-exclusive artwork and a bonus track, “What Lies Beneath” was recorded and produced by Tarja and mixed by Tim Palmer (PEARL JAM, THE CURE, ROBERT PLANT), Colin Richardson (SLIPKNOT, MACHINE HEAD, BULLET FOR MY VALENTINE) and Slamm Andrews (scores of “Angels & Demon”, “Pirates of The Caribbean”, “Gladiator”). Special guests on ther CD include Phil Labonte (ALL THAT REMAINS), Joe Satriani, Jason Hook (FIVE FINGER DEATH PUNCH), Will Calhoun (LIVING COLOUR), Slovak National Symphony Orchestra and Choir and more. A limited-edition deluxe version of “What Lies Beneath” is in the works, with details to be announced soon.

A five-minute video clip featuring footage from the recording sessions for Tarja’s new album can be viewed below. The audio track featured in the video is an edited version of “Falling Awake” featuring a guest appearance by Joe Satriani (CHICKENFOOT) on guitar.
“What Lies Beneath” track listing:

01. Anteroom Of Death (feat. Van Canto)

02. Until My Last Breath

03. Dark Star (feat. Phil Labonte)

04. Underneath

05. Little Lies

06. Rivers Of Lust

07. In For A Kill

08. Montañas de Silencio (exclusive U.S. track)

09. Falling Awake (feat. Joe Satriani)

10. The Archive Of Lost Dreams

11. Crimson Deep

U.S. cover:

Tarja - USA Cover
Tarja - USA Cover

International cover:

Tarja - International Cover
Tarja - International Cover

Video for “Falling Awake”:




About EvilG

Owner of Metal-Rules.com
View all posts by EvilG →