Spinal Tap – Back From The Dead

Reviewed: November 2009
Released: 2009, Label Industry Records
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: JP

The Tap is Back! The 80s comedy trio have just released their third record overall, the follow-up to the 1992 album, BREAK LIKE THE WIND. There is however a catch. BACK FROM THE DEAD is in reality the 25th anniversary re-recording of the self-titled debut from 1984. The Heavy Metal band spoof/soundtrack tie-in, has had an unexpected longevity as evidenced by this new version.

The package is a total overhaul with new title, new cover art and so on. All 11 original songs re-recorded and couple of them are completely revamped, such as the ‘funky’ version of ‘Sex Farm’ and the reggae version of ‘(Listen to the) Flower People’. There are eight bonus tracks dabbling in, oddly enough blues, jazz and Celtic stylings and a trio of hard rockers. The packaging is utterly incredible with a fold out diorama of the band on stage complete with a mini Stonehenge! There is also an hour long DVD with the comedians (in character) doing a song-by-song analysis of the entire 19 track album.

It’s great to hear the full modern production on the comedy gems like ‘Heavy Duty’, ‘Big Bottom’ and ‘Tonight I’m Gonna Rock You Tonight’. This is a must for fans of the movie and a great introduction to the band that pokes fun of a genre that at times can take itself far too seriously.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Tonight I\’m Going To Rock You Tonight
2. Back From The Dead
3. (Funky) Sex Farm
4. Rock \’n\’ Roll Creation
5. Jazz Oddyssey I
6. Gimme Some Money
7. Rock \’n\’ Roll Nightmare
8. Heavy Duty
9. America
10. Jazz Oddyssey II
11. (Listen To The) Flower People (Reggae style)
12. Hell Hole
13. Big Bottom
14. Celtic Blues
15. Jazz Oddyessy III
16. Warmer Than Hell
17. Stonehenge
18. Short And Sweet
19. Cups And Cakes

Nigel Tufnel-Guitar
David St. Hubbins-Vocals, Guitar
Derek Smalls-Bass