Destroyer 666 – Defiance

Reviewed: November 2009
Released: 2009, Season Of Mist
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Their fourth full-length album in 15 years, Destroyer 666 have issued an album that seems to be polarizing the faithful. Initial impressions seem to be generally one of surprise. In the case of the some of the more staunch older fans, DEFIANCE is yet another unwelcome step away from the initial sound and premise of BESTIAL WARLUST, so many years ago. On the other hand it is by far the most dynamic and melodic release by the band to date.

With only founder and guitarist KK Warslut left on board, seven years between albums and the constant line-up changes may account for the evolution. Perhaps it is the fact that they have severed their Australian ties and the entire band work and live in Europe. Regardless, the blackened thrash formula is still intact and realistic and all the alleged changes are really very subtle shades of grey, discernible perhaps only by an audience experienced in appreciation of extreme metal. An open-minded listener will appreciate and embrace the slightly slower speeds, the atmospheric interludes which nicely juxtaposition the still present face-ripping thrash demanded of a band of this caliber.

For what it\’s worth this reviewer really enjoys DEFIANCE and after seeing D666 live recently in Calgary cemented my high opinion of the band.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Weapons Of Conquest
2. I Am Not Deceived
3. Blood For Blood
4. The Barricades Are Breaking
5. I Stand Defiant
6. A Path To Conflict
7. A Thousand Plagues
8. Human All Too Human
9. A Sermon To The Dead

KK Warslut-Vocals
P. Kazor-Bass