Sekond Skyn – Addicted To Chaos

Reviewed: October 2009
Released: 2009, n/a
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Robert Williams

New Jersey hard rockers Sekond Skyn follow up their 2006 debut full length release LET THE FIRE BURN and 2008 self titled EP with the self released effort ADDICTED TO CHAOS. Featuring a whopping 12 tracks and one cover tune; a remake of the Men At Work top 40 hit \”Land Down Under\” ADDICTED TO CHAOS is no doubt the band\’s most diverse effort to date.

On the album\’s first two tracks \”Heroin Within\” and \”California Drinkin\” vocalist Jon Follet brings some vocal phrasing to the table that sounds similar to STP and former Velvet Revolver vocalist Scott Weiland. Further into the disc on tracks like \”The Pit\” and \”Scorned\” Follet offers up a much more aggressive vocal approach that is complemented by beefier riffs and drums that pound harder and louder…and then of course you have the wacky Men At Work cover and the ballad-esque \”Dreamin\” and \”Space Between Us\”

Musically ADDICTED TO CHAOS is all over the place and at certain times will appeal to a wide variety of listeners and in that respect makes sense of the band\’s \”Experimental Hard Rock\” tagline; but on the other hand you could make a case out of not putting necessary emphasis into any one style or genre which could make the end result a mishmash of sorts that is hard to relate to. Having said that, everything up for offer on this disc is well produced and performed and depending on how eclectic your tastes are, may very well be a welcome addition to your playlist.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Heroin Within
2. California Drinkin
3. The Balance
4. Dead Inside
5. State Of Mind
6. Dreamin
7. The Pit
8. Scorned
9. Push
10. Land Down Under
11. The Vanity
12. Space Between Us
13. Going Under

Jon Follet – Vocals
Eddie Heedles – Guitar
Mark Monjoy – Guitar
George Pond – Bass
Tommy Spano – Drums, Backing Vocals