Clutch – From Beale Street To Oblivion

Reviewed: November 2008
Released: 2007, DRT Entertainment/Sound Pollution
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

The first thing released by Clutch was an EP called PITCHFORK in 1991. Two years later came their debut album TRANSNATIONAL SPEEDWAY LEAGUE: ANTHEMS ANECDOTES AND UNDENIABLE THRUTHS, which blew the brains out for all fans of stoner and dirty 70’s rock. Since then the band has unleashed 6 studio albums as well as a bunch of EP’s and live albums.

To be honest I didn’t like or really get the meaning of the album at first. The more I listened to it the more the disc grew on me and now I’m actually quite fond it. Their music has a strong groove and a nice flow. You can tell that the members are all experienced musicians and the incorporation of Hammond organ and harmonica makes the music sound even better.

My personal favorites amongst the 12 songs are “You Can’t Stop Progress”, “Power Player”, “Child Of the City”, “Electric Worry”, “One Eye Dollar” and “When Vegans Attack”. These are all songs that really capture the essence of what now has become known as stoner rock. The songs are heavy, the grooves are fierce and the lead vocals and edgy guitar riffs are in focus. The first part of the album feels stronger and more solid compared to the second part. It feels like the band has put most energy in the opening songs and they kind of lost their inspiration when it came to the second part. The songs lack energy at the end and it’s easy to jump over those songs in favor of listening to the first ones again.

I have listened to the album at least a dozen of times and I have made a new acquaintance in Clutch. From Beale Street to Oblivion is a pretty solid album and the fans are gonna love it.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
You Can’t Stop Progress
Power Player
The Devil And Me
White’s Ferry
Child Of The City
Electric Worry
One Eye Dollar
Rapture Of Riddley Walker
When Vegans Attack
Opossum Minister
Black Umbrella
Mr. Shiny Cadillackness

Neil Fallon – lead vocals, guitar
Tim Sult – guitar
Dan Maines – bass
Jean-Paul Gaster – drums
Mick Schauer – keyboards, organ