Sleepercar – West Texas

Sleepercar< ?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

< ?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />West Texas

2008, Dine Alone Records

Rating: 3.5/5



My first introduction to Sleepercar was on Jay Leno’s Tonight Show. They put on a good performance and were fairly energetic (as into it as you can get doing one song). At the beginning I was thinking to myself; “This is going to be another generic indie rock band”.  I was partially wrong once I heard the CD.< ?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />


Upon putting on the disc the opening track didn’t really hit and proved my “generic Indie rock” statement to be true. Once the next song came on interest picked up, “Wasting My Time” was definitely not wasting my time. Then the 3rd song (my personal favorite of the disc) “Fences Down” came on. Holy Pie! A mellow mix of rock similar in vein to Neil Young’s HARVEST MOON crossed with some upbeat early Blue Rodeo. A surefire hit here that should definitely make them noticed. The remaining 8 songs are a good listen. You can feel yourself in a car cruising down a long stretch of highway at dusk in mid summer with these tunes playing. < ?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />WEST TEXAS is a solid offering of mid tempo rock songs.


A disc worth checking out and listening to especially on those nights by the campfire.





  1. A Broken Promise
  2. Wasting My Time
  3. Fences Down
  4. Wednesday Nights
  5. Kings & Compromises
  6. Heavy Weights
  7. Sound the Alarm
  8. End of a Year
  9. You Should Run
  10. All Will End Well
  11. Stumble In