Fredriksen/Denander – Baptism By Fire

Fredriksen – Denander
Baptism By Fire

2007, Frontiers Records/Zink Music
Rating: 4/5

This is another album released in the shape of a project. Fredriksen have been member of Toto, Trillion and Le Roux, Denander is maybe most known for his work as guitar player, songwriter, and producer to many of the biggest names in the industry.

With thought of what label that’s releasing this album you probably already guessed that the music style on this album is melodic rock. Fredriksen/Denander circles in the same music category as Toto, Journey, Survivor and Pride of Lions but Fredriksen/Denander’s music is a little edgier and is more guitar-based compared to the others.

BAPTISM BY FIRE is an excellent choice of an album if you’re into nice edgier melodic rock with catchy hook lines and various materials. Fredriksen and Denander work brilliant together and they really complement each other. And even though many of the songs are about love they bring another level to the music.

One positive thing amongst many is that the guys totally have excluded ballads and focused mainly on faster songs. The quality of the material is surprisingly even and my personal favorite tracks that stick out at once are “Let Him Go”, “Silver Lining”, “Crossing Over”, “Written In Stone” and “My Saving Grace”. All of those songs are up-tempo songs where Fredriksen gives proof of his strong vocals and broad vocal range. Denander contributes with skilled guitar play of high class. Thomas Vikström and Jan Johansen helps out on b-vox and with thought of their capacity you bet that it all sounds great and that they back up Fredriksen in the best possible way.

It has taken the guys three years to finish the album and you can understand that when you hear it. This is proof of how great melodic rock should sound and I can warmly recommend it to any fan of well played rock.

Fergie Fredriksen – lead vocals
Tommy Denander – guitar, bass, keyboards, loops

Special Guests
Steve Porcaro – Hammond
Eric Z Daniel – drums
Thomas Vikström – b-vox

More info about the band


Let Him Go
Right Heart, Wrong Time
Silver Lining
Crossing Over
Written In Stone
My Saving Grace
Baptism By Fire
Can’t Get Enough
Never Try To Love Again
Dead End
Keep A Light On
Left With Nothing