Fate – s/t

< ?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />


S/t – remastered

2007, MTM Music/Zink Music

Rating: 2.5/5


MTM Music continues to release re-mastered issues of out-of-print albums in their series called MTM Classix. Now it’s Fate’s turn to get their un-available albums out on the market again. This is their self-titled debut album originally released in 1984. The band was formed by the Ex- Mercyful Fate guitarist Hank Sherman. In this band Sherman and Co play 80’s melodic hard rock and it sounds like they have been influenced by Scandinavian acts like < ?xml:namespace prefix = st1 ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:smarttags" />Europe, Treat, or Alien along with hints of Van Halen. The production revolves around lead vocals and the dynamic guitar playing by Sherman. Fate also did not include any ballads, which is something that’s unusual for a band in this genre. < ?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />

Fate show a hungry side and it feels like they were really eager to get somewhere with this debut. This re-issue includes 11 tracks plus a bonus track called “Won’t Stop” with the total play time at 50 minutes. There’s nothing to remark upon when it comes to the great music and arrangements. My main problem is the lyrics that are about the usual theme when it comes to this genre: love and nothing more. Not much time seems to have been spent on the lyrics, but I have to admit that despite the boring love themes, the songs are really catchy. Something that doesn’t fit into the main material is the bonus stuff. The song contains mostly keyboards and I get a feeling like the old Van Halen song “Panama”.

If you’re a Fate fan then you should definitely check out this album. More Fate albums are also going to be released, so watch out for that. This debut isn’t bad at all, but less focus on love would’ve brought the rating up. Killer tracks are “Fallen Angel”, “Rip It Up”, “Danger Zone”, “Do You Want It”, and “We’re Hot”.



Jeff Limbo – lead vocals

Hank Sherman – guitar

Pete Steiner – bass

Bob Lance – drums


More info about the band








Love On The Rox

Fallen Angel

Rip It Up


Danger Zone

(She’s Got) The Devil Inside

Downtown Boy

Backdoor Man

We’re Hot

Won’t Stop (bonus track)