The 69 Eyes – Angels

The 69 Eyes< ?xml:namespace prefix = o ns = "urn:schemas-microsoft-com:office:office" />


2007, EMI

Rating: 4.5/5



The Helsinki Vampires deliver a new disc of Sex, Blood and Rock and Roll. This disc; ANGELS is like the sister album to DEVILS, a dark sister. Jyrki has never sounded better and this blend of Goth, Glam and Rock n’ Roll creates an aural pleasure that is sure to satisfy.

From the opening title track you are captured with the sounds and effects that create an eerie feeling of impending doom and gloom that is the current state of the world. It has a war-like vibe to it with explosions happening in the background. This is followed with a slightly more up beat track, “Never Say Die” which happens to be the just released 2nd single and video from the album. This one mixes good old 80’s Hollywood sleaze with the darkness of those early Goth bands. A great mixture that is very radio friendly that should help them storm their way up the charts. This disc is filled with fantastic rockers such as the aptly named “Rocker”. Other notables include the debut single “Perfect Skin” that tells of Hollywood’s infatuation to be the perfect person in size, looks…everything. There is even a mid tempo tune of sorts in the form of “Ghost” that is right out of a horror film with its keyboard effects. It has that haunting vocal and general eerie aura to it. The big surprise was the heartfelt ballad “Star of Fate” that with its amazing harmonies and beautiful melody. This is just a perfect ballad and a sure fire hit. It has a bit of that classic power ballad style to it where there is a slightly distorted guitar solo in the middle but it is subtle and not too overpowering.

A great disc that is sure to put The 69 Eyes on the map and finally make the world take notice. It is just a Glammy Goth Rock album that everyone should buy. It’s a sure fire thing that this is going to be one of THE albums to own this year.

Jyrki69 – Vocals
Jussi69 – Drum
Bazie – Guitar
Timo Timo – Guitar
Archzie – Bass

1. Angels
2. Never Say Die
3. Rocker
4. Ghost
5. Perfect Skin
6. Wings & Hearts
7. Star Of Fate
8. Los Angeles
9. In My Name
10. Shadow Of Your Love
11. Frankenhooker