Tourist – The Revelance Of Motion

The Revelance Of Motion

2006, MTM Music/Zink Music
Rating: 3.5/5

This is the Vancouver-based Tourist’s brand new debut album. The band has won a lot of talent shows and the band’s first CD single got a lot of airplay on radios nationwide. Tourist plays modern guitar-based melodic rock which is surprisingly influenced by sad goth.

This young act has managed to get the veteran producer/mixer Mike Fraser (Metallica, Slipknot, The Cure, AC/DC) to produce THE RELEVANCE OF MOTION, and he has done a great job.

Better songs are “Jacob’s Ladder”, “Stay”, “Everytime We Touch”, “LRT”, “High Speed”, and “Newradio”, which all are faster songs. The lead singer Blaine Braun has a special voice that really fits in with Tourist’s material, and he gets good help from guitarists Greg Whitbeck and Andy Skov in taking the material to another level.

A few more offbeat songs are “Throwing Stones”, “It Doesn’t Matter”, “Newradio”, and “Nothing between Us”, which really don’t fit in on this album at all. Those four drag down the rating along with the awful cover art. Just by taking one look at it you wonder what this is, but don’t be scared; the music is much better than the cover.

Blaine Braun – lead vocals
Mark Radloff – bass
Greg Whitbeck – bass
Andy Skov – guitar
Bob Wagner – drums

More info about the band


Jacob’s Ladder
Everytime We Touch
Throwing Stones
High Speed
Throw It Away
Nothing Between Us
It Just Doesn’t Matter