Satyrian – Eternitas

Reviewed: November 2006
Released: 2006, Lion Music
Rating: 2.5/5
Reviewer: MetalChick

If you can imagine the orchestrations of a new wave artist like Enya injected with some dominating heavy guitars and a sprinkling of growling vocals, then you have Satyrian. It takes quite a few listens to get into, but ETERNITAS is of a truly unique style. There are three vocalists – two females and one male – and lots of moody, atmospheric undertones weaving in with the guitars. Kind of like Therion, only not as dark.

The title track is perfect for an introductory song, with a great piano melody, kickin\’ guitar riffs, and an incredibly catchy vocal line. The song that really kicks, though, is \”Invictus,\” which is the one and only song on the album that can truly be called metal. There’s some lame electronica going on in it, but when it comes to heaviness, this is the one. They really slam on the brakes from here on out. Parts of \”The Dark Gift\” sound like they’re straight from a Eurythmics tune, and \”Bridge of Death\” is like a tribal ritual song. \”Fall From Grace\” picks it up again, but with such a big break between cool songs, the album isn’t as great as it could be.

Satyrian is definitely an acquired taste – a taste I have not acquired. They\’ve watered down the strong songs with those that just can’t grab the ears of metal listeners. After those first two songs I was so thirsty for more of that, but they disappointed me. Maybe next time.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Eternitas
2. Invictus
3. Feel the Rush
4. My Legacy
5. The Dark Gift
6. Sacred Lies
7. Bridge of Death
8. Fall From Grace
9. No Tears, No Embrace
10. Haunted
11. This Dream
12. Ewigkeit

Roman Schonsee – vocals
Kemi Vita – vocals
Judith Stuber – vocals
Jan Yrlund – guitars, programming
Oliver Philipps – piano
Milos Marisevic – bass
Merijn Mol – drums & percussion