Cloven Hoof – Eye Of The Sun

Reviewed: November 2006
Released: 2006, Escape Music/Zink Music
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Anders Sandvall

Cloven Hoof released their self-titled debut album in 1982, and after line-up changes they released their next sci-fi inspired album DOMINATOR in 1988. The magazine Metal Hammer proclaimed the band’s third album, A SULTAN’S RANSOM, to be one of England’s best heavy metal albums in 1990. Cloven Hoof is now led by the only original member: Lee Payne. They still deliver the same classic heavy metal, and there’s nothing to say about the music. The band’s main issue is the lead singer, Matt Moreton, who doesn’t have what it takes to sing in this band. His voice isn’t capable of hitting on the higher notes demanded by this type of material.

Overall, the ten tracks on this album are solid, but there are a few tracks that feel a bit unnecessary – like the stupid “Cyberworld” track. Just listen to the lyrics and you’ll now what I mean. Matt Moreton mostly screams his way through “Eye of the Sun”, so that’s another track that they could have left off of the album. The songs on this album tend to blend into each other and they all sound the same. It’s sometimes hard to separate one song from another and I had to take out the album a few times to see which song I was listening to.

EYE OF THE SUN’s greatest songs are “Inquisitor”, “Kiss Of Evil”, “Eye Of The Zombie”, “Aboslute Power”, “Whore Of Babylon”, and “King For A Day”.

I recommend this album in smaller doses on a regular basis; you will see its full potential then. The material is OK despite the things I mentioned earlier.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
Eye Of The Sun
Kiss Of Evil
Eye Of The Zombie
Absolute Power
Whore Of Babylon
King For A Day
Angels In Hell

Matt Moreton – lead vocals
Andy Shortland – guitar
Lee Payne – bass
Orlin Randsky – drums