Witheria – Infernal Maze

Reviewed: October 2006
Released: 2006, Twisted Face
Rating: 4.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Sometimes it´s better to do things on your own. Tuberculosis, both the owner of a small, independent Finnish label Twisted Face and the vocalist of both retro-thrashers Witheria and extreme metallers Spirit Disease, have put out the debut full-length albums from both of his own bands through the label – and let´s take Witheria´s debut album, titled INFERNAL MAZE, under our magnifying glass first. Prior to this release, the band had released as many as 5 demos in their 7-year old career — it was about time to get the band´s debut record out.

INFERNAL MAZE, containing 8 songs off which 3 are brand-new ones – and the rest 5 taken from their old demos, is actually a pretty sounding package of retro-Thrash, sung with Death Metal growls and Black Metal shrieks most of the time. There´s not anything particularly new in their songs that you couldn´t have heard before. However, for Witheria´s advantage, it honestly needs to be said the guys sound well-rehearsed and in fact, surprisingly tight on INFERNAL MAZE, offering a trick or two in their furiously thrashing songs that grab listener´s attention quite easily even. Witheria´s 6-string axemen Kusmar and J. Warhead surely know what it demands to make someone´s ass kicked hard. Both of these guys playing are flawless, even phenomenal at times – channeling their ever-flowing energies to air-piercing riffs and heavy, head-hammering rhythms. The guys´ lead work is thoroughly good, too. Even if most of the stuff they sow around the album, tend to sound somehow familiar, kind of borrowed from some other bands´ releases, Witheria still manage to convince enough by their excellence and sort of determination to knock people dead by these 8 songs they have recorded for INFERNAL MAZE. As sort of a proof what was mentioned about Witheria´s ´knocking-people-dead´ -value, just check out a song called “Thrash the Place”. Pretty nice Exodus -worshipping there… awesome! Also a song titled “Mental Sadist” falls into the same category which should put a listener gasping for air for some seconds due to the band´s good sense for things of a bit more thrashy.

Sincere congratz Witheria! I mean, for quite a hell of a debut album of yours. You indeed succeeded to thrash my place… in a positive way, of course! ;o)


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. The Disillusion
02. Hypnotic Massacre
03. Thrash the Place
04. Mental Sadist
05. Hell Is What You Deserve
06. Purification
07. Spiral of Madness
08. Fire and Pain

Kusmar – Lead and rhythm guitars
J. Warhead – Rhythm guitars
Tuberculosis – Vocals
Predator – Bass
Rob Diver – Drums