Avatar – 4 Reasons To Die

Reviewed: March 2005
Released: 2004, Bloodstained Art Entertainment
Rating: 3.0/5
Reviewer: Luxi Lahtinen

Melodic Death Metal from Sweden has undoubtedly become quite a curse to the ears of many nowadays. Well, here is some more anyway… and this thing has its moments for sure, believe it or not.

Avatar, a 5-piece act hailing from Mölndal, Sweden, can produce lots of melodic, Gothenburg´ish Death Metal noise via this 4-song E.P. titled 4 REASONS TO DIE. Luckily they remind me more of the mid ´90s Gothenburg-tinged Death Metal invasion musically with bands like Sacrilege, Ceremonial Oath, Naglfar and the likes than possibly some other Swedish melody-infested Death Metal bands that adopted the similar sound for themselves a few years later.

However, to be honest with you, even if they sound like a rather solid, melodic Swedish Death Metal band, I find their music a bit too uninspiring and quite breathless even. The first two songs on this E.P., “Tied, Torn and Twisted” and “My Shining Star” basically don’t do much for me despite a few, occasional good moments in both of them. “Apocalypse Showtime” is a much better effort, being overall a more varied tune and sounding like they have spent a few more rehearsal hours with the song compared to the first two tunes on 4 REASONS… Also, the last song “Stranger” , is structure-wise, a relatively well-made and catchy song, with some strong riffage churned out by the band’s guitar duo of Jonas and Simon and somewhat powerful vocals by Johannes Eckerström. I bet if Avatar had existed and recorded similar stuff in the mid of 90s they would have snapped up by either Black Sun Records or Wrong Again Records back. Just too bad for them they are a half decade late because trends tend to come and go.

Avatar really isn’t a band that is meant to crumble and shake the ground below your feet, but if you feel an urgent need to add some more early Gothenburg´ish Swedish Death Metal to your own collection, then you might want to add Avatar as a part of it too.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
01. Tied, Torn and Twisted
02. My Shining Star
03. Apocalypse Showtime
04. Stranger

Johannes Eckerström – Vocals
Simon Andersson – Guitar & bass
Jonas Jarlsby – Guitar & keyboards
Henrik Sandelin – Bass
John Alfredsson – Drums, percussion & flute