Warning SF – Aftermath

Reviewed: December 2004
Released: 2004, Relentless
Rating: 3.5/5
Reviewer: JP

Year-end wrap-up: Each of the last few years to wrap up the year I have picked a theme for my reviews for December. This year due to the overwhelming number of CD’s that deserve exposure, recognition and commentary I am going to resort to quantity over quality. I usually try to give as much attention to each CD with extensive commentary however this month’s reviews (perhaps unfortunately) will be short and sweet and much more in the style of traditional magazine reviews where space restrictions are an important factor. (ie. Less detail) I apologize in advance to readers who expect much more detailed reviews. Please check the reviews archives as many of my colleagues have written excellent detailed commentary of many of these CD’s. I hope the large number of quick comments will help guide you making some of those important year-end CD purchase decisions. Happy Holidays and see you in January. JP

Another cool, low-key, underground release from the uber-cool Relentless
Records camp. Aftermath was from San Francisco and never quite made it back in the early 80’s. Now a reunion of sorts sees most of the original line-up recording new material and as a nice bonus the label threw on three bonus cuts from 1985. Once again the label does a good job with the package with an mini-essay, lyrics, lots of photos the aforementioned three song demo cuts but yet another bland, blurry and unappealing album cover diminish the overall impact. Jon Torres of Laaz Rockit got his start in Warning and have returned to the fold to create a very classic sounding metal album. He recruited Aaron Jellum into the new incarnation as well. The band is predominantly classic style metal with hints of speed, thrash, and anthemic touches but ‘metal’ with hyphens and sub-genres is the only word to describe it.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Intro
2. Road Death
3. Aftermath
4. Thunderhead
5. Sounds of Armageddon
6. Happy Doomsday
7. The Noose
8. Fall Upon Your Knees (bonus)
9. Not a chance In Hell (bonus)
10. Metal Maniac (bonus)

Torre Carstensen-Vocals
Jon Torres-Guitar
Aaron Jellum-Guitar
Brian Poole-Bass, Keyboards, Guitar
Will Carroll-Drums