Pretty Boy Floyd – Leather Boyz with Electric Toyz

Reviewed: July 2003
Released: 2003, Perris
Rating: 4.5/5
Reviewer: JP

It’s time for another melodic rock round up! What could be better than enjoying a hot summer day, driving around in a your convertible cranking the melodic metal? Perris Records has released a new batch of discs just in time for your super summer barbeque or picnic. After all who wants to listen to Black Metal bands screaming about the eternal winter frost when it’s hot and sunny out and you are having a few beers with friends?
New releases by Razamanaz, a double shot of Pretty Boy Floyd and Hollywood Hairspray Vol II are all you need to get your party started.

Perris Records knows a good thing when they have one and for years have supported PBF, one of the longer running and more successful glam bands around. I’m not positive but these two discs seem to be celebrating the band’s 15th anniversary.

Leather Boyz is a reissue of their utterly classic debut. Released on MCA in 1989 after a lengthy delays and legal wrangles with Canada’s Pretty Boy Floyd this disc still stands as a classic of the genre ranking up their with tuff debut and a handful of others. Perris has somehow got the rights from MCA and re-issued this gem with a new cover and 5 bonus tracks. Every song is a fun-filled, rockin’ glam anthem with catchy choruses. The band did quite well in terms of sales and the strength of this disc has perhaps given them the credibility and drive to continue all these years with numerous releases. The five bonus tracks are all outstanding, very much in the same vein. I’m not completely familiar with the intricate details of the bands discography, as they have had some compilations, live stuff, EP’s and so on but I get the impression these are new, unreleased cuts from the late 80’s.
This was the bands debut and is out of print so fans may want to grab this version while it lasts!

The band has dug deep into the vaults and released ANOTHER compilation called simply VAULT II. It has 13 cuts are they are mostly new, live, rare, unreleased or alternate versions. This is not quite exciting as it could be unless you are a big PBF fan. I only say that because it seems the band and or label are clearing the vaults in order to create a bit of buzz to help push the new forthcoming studio CD. Don’t get me wrong, these are all good cuts, fun songs but after waiting four years for a new album this feels ever so slightly of filler.

Overall, it is good to see the band continuing on and maybe with the recent resurgence of melodic hard rock and glam, PBF will get the wider recognition they deserve. Check out for more info.


No Videos Available

Track Listing:
1. Leather Boyz With Electric Toyz
2. Set The Night On Fire
3. Wild Angels
4. 48 Hours
5. Toast Of The Town
6. Rock’N’Roll Outlaws
7. Only The Young
8. The Last Kiss
9. Your Mama Won’t Know
10. I Wanna Be With You

Bonus Tracks

11. Slam Dunk
12. She’s My Baby
13. Two Hearts
14. Over The Edge
15. I Just Wanna Have Something To Do.

Steve Bummers-vocals
Kristy Krash-Guitar
Vinnie Chas-Bass
Kari Kane-Bass